Before and After

13 Jul

Design*Sponge’s Before and After series are some of the posts I look forward to the most in my Google Reader each week.

I was totally inspired by the amazing chair ‘before and after’ posts that pop up often and decided to create my own. I found this 1940’s chair on Craigslist for $25. A can of steel gray paint and some awesome fabric found on Etsy later – it is one of my proudest accomplishments!

Here we have the before – a beautiful antique, but totally busted, chair.

And here’s the after – a fun, bright bedroom chair!

5 Responses to “Before and After”

  1. TrueLiz July 13, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    Lucy, that’s amazing! I am so impressed!

  2. mollytics July 13, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    Oh heck yes! Those look fab. Love the color of the chair!

  3. Blythe July 13, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    Go Lucy! This is awesome–i love your pattern and color choices!

  4. Deweese July 14, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    I’m so impressed. Was the upholstering hard?

  5. Lucy July 14, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    I think it would have been hard had I followed any kind of guide for upholstering. Instead, I just glued some batting down and covered it with the fabric and stapled that to the back of the chair bottom. Totally unprofessional, but totally worked!

Leave a Reply

