Shelter magazines

10 Jun

(Note: I’ve been drafting this post for a couple of weeks, so if you read 75th and Sedgwick‘s post earlier this week it might look familiar!)

The New York Times recently wrote about the slew of online shelter magazines that have emerged since Domino so sadly folded. The article focuses mostly on Lonny, the first and arguably most popular of these magazines. After Lonny came Rue, High Gloss, and Matchbook, all following generally the same pattern. It’s easy to flip through the pages on the website. You can click directly through to the product’s page to buy an item (genius). Very little editorial oversight and basically no limits on space.

I’ve tried to get on the online shelter bandwagon. I’ve flipped through various issues of each of them several times. The layouts are always pretty and I definitely love the abundant use of color on each page. If I had to pick a favorite, I’d go with High Gloss – not only because I adore the blog of its editor, La Dolce Vita.

via

Overall though, I just can’t get on board. Just like Deweese, I can’t get past not being able to hold the magazine and easily flip pages back and forth. To really see the images you have to view in full screen which means hitting ESC every time you need to look at something else. But here’s my real issue with these magazines: they all look the same. I find it really hard to figure out what the editorial view point of each is, and how it differs from the others. Mirrored vanities, bright pillows, light airy bedrooms, metallic accessories. (Ok, so I basically just described my apartment decor) I love these themes, but it would be nice if one of the magazines took a different tact and showed a different design aesthetic.

Maybe I’ll get over my slight aversion to the online shelter industry one day. Until then, my trusty Google Reader filled to the brim with design blogs will do just fine.

2 Responses to “Shelter magazines”

  1. Deweese June 10, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    Totally agree. They are all so identical!

  2. Blythe June 13, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    So identical. I’m all about the hard copies, too. I just don’t seem to remember what I see in these online mags. Maybe Pinterest will help with that! Also, in terms of them being very similar. I agree! Have you looked at Entra? I think its different and really nice.

    http://entramagazine.com/

Leave a Reply

