Cooking and football

9 Feb

In an effort to take advantage of the additional post-work hours my new job offers, I signed up for a 12 week cooking course at CulinAerie. Justin at Will Blog for Food raved about it so I figured I would give it a shot. I love to cook (no surprise there) but I have never taken a real cooking course. This class is the Master’s Series, which obviously means I will be a Master chef in just 12 short weeks. Negative. It actually just means we cook a different food each week, covering a pretty wide spectrum over the 3 months. Tonight was week 3 and I’m loving it already.

The class has inspired me to blog about my cooking a little more. I read a lot of cooking/food blogs. One of my favorite parts about these blogs is the step-by-step photography with each recipe. So I figured I’d give it a shot this weekend while I made a typical, all-American Superbowl food: French Macaroons. What? Not all-American? Oh well. Here goes.

Martha Stewart’s French Macaroons

The cast of characters

Steps already forgotten to photograph: Sift dry ingredients together

Start by whisking egg whites until foamy

Add cream of tartar, whisk again, add sugar, and whisk until stiff peaks form

Sift the dry ingredients over the whites and fold until shiny

More steps I forgot to photograph: pipe batter onto parchment lined cookie sheets and let sit for 15 minutes

(this was challenging with no camera so photos would have probably ended in disaster)

Bake for 10 minutes. These guys are right out of the oven

Sandwich a teaspoon of raspberry jam between two cookies.

Voila!

So this first attempt at being a “food blogger” was kind of a fail. I’ll try again this weekend with another new recipe!

 

 

Leave a Reply

