Saturday Night Sips

27 Jan

My friend SR and I went to a really awesome event last weekend.

Saturday Night Sips was a fundraiser for two amazing DC organizations, DC Central Kitchen and Martha’s Table.  Local chefs and bartenders mixologists served up some delicious food (vegetarian hiatus FTW!) and drinks and we got to wander around the unbelievable Dupont home where the event was hosted.

Seriously, this house was unreal – the most incredible collection of art I’ve ever seen outside a museum, a kitchen to die for, and the third floor was transformed into a real life log cabin. I kept wandering off to explore. SR suggested that I get out of this non-profit business if I ever want to live somewhere like that. Touche.

The home had several paintings from Brian Petro‘s ameriICONic series which I absolutely loved. This is from an Apartment Therapy post on his studio.

via

Also at the event – Alice Waters (!) and Jose Andres. I got to meet both of them which was pretty fantastic. Of all the things I could have asked Jose about (his work with hunger groups in DC, new restaurant ventures, etc.) I told him about how I have been trying to recreate the Brussels sprouts from Zaytinya for two years and have been unsuccessful. His response “good, then you will keep coming to the restaurant.” Awesome.

Here are some pictures from the event, courtesy of  One Bite at a Time.

Leave a Reply

