Ideal bookshelf

15 Dec

Katherine posted about Ideal Bookshelf a couple of weeks ago.

I absolutely love this artist. She paints custom paintings of your favorite books, available here on her Etsy store.

 

I would have a really hard time picking out books, but these would probably make my list:

The Winds of War – Herman Wouk
Ragtime – E.L.Doctorow
Little House on the Prarie – Laura Ingalls Wilder
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society – Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows
Molly Saves the Day – American Girl series
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks – Rebecca Skloot
The Omnivore’s Dilemma – Michael Polan
Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
Interpreter of Maladies – Jhumpa Lahiri

I realize this is a pretty random list, but all of these books have had some kind of an impact on me.

I just loved every word of Guernsey and the Interpreter of Maladies. The Omnivore’s Dilemma changed the way I think about food and Henrietta Lacks changed the way I think about science and health care. I read Molly Saves the Day (yes, the American Girl book) when I was living in London and it made me want to live in America and go to camp. I read the Winds of War when I was abroad in Prague, traveling to cities that were occupied during World War II. I wrote my first real research paper on Ragtime in high school.

What would be on your Ideal Bookshelf?

2 Responses to “Ideal bookshelf”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My bookshelf « Lucy Actually - February 10, 2011

    […] I blogged about loving the Ideal Bookshelf artist, my mom ordered one for me! It came yesterday and I love it. […]

  2. My Ideal Bookshelf | Mollytics! - March 8, 2011

    […] of my best girlfriends over at Lucy Actually blogged about the idea of an “Ideal Bookshelf,” and I thought to myself – that’s awesome. And personal. And I […]

Leave a Reply

