7 Oct

I saw this letter posted here yesterday and thought it was a perfect articulation of why I stopped reading Perez.

I used to read his site religiously. It was on my Google Reader and he was my go to for celebrity gossip news. But then I got considerably more frustrated with the drawing on pictures, citing from questionable sources, and the far more serious issue this letter talks about.

It’s worth a read.

An open letter to Perez Hilton

This is what you said after Tyler Clementi, the Rutgers University freshman, killed himself after his roommate used a hidden cam to live-stream him making out with another guy:

  • “I’m just beyond sad — I’m crushed. And also compelled to act (after seeing) gay bullying and (kids) being harassed in school because people might think that they’re gay.”

Well, Perez, it turns out you make a living doing the exact same thing, except with a much bigger audience than Clementi’s roommate’s 148 Twitter followers. Here’s what MSNBC wrote when you bragged about outing Lance Bass:

  • Lance was forced to make a very public statement on the cover of People after Perez Hilton started posting articles in September 2005, outing Lance on his Web site.
    (Hilton says) “It upsets me that people think what I’m doing is a bad thing. I don’t think it’s a bad thing. If you know something to be a fact, why not report it?“
    If I have to drag some people screaming out of the closet, then I will.”

And then there’s Dustin Lance Black, the gay screenwriter who won an Academy Award in ‘08 for Milk. You posted private pictures of him having sex. (You’ve since removed the link, but in the comments underneath we can see that you did post the pictures.)

 Oh, and don’t forget about Matt Dallas, star of the ABC Family show ‘Kyle XY.’ You take perverse pleasure in calling him a “fag,” even nicknaming him ‘Kyle KY.’ (Dallas is only rumored to be gay.)

You posted a picture of Dallas “celebrating his birthday in fagulous style” here, and, in keeping with the witty “fagulous” theme, you wrote, “The fagulous Kyle KY star debuted his new ‘do at the Family TV Awards in LA on Thursday night.”

So, Perez, tell me who it is that’s doing the cyber-bullying.

And if you’re having a hard time figuring it out, let me help: it’s you.

These are only a few examples of what you’ve done over the years, and you treat women the same way — like nothing more than a piece of meat.

I’d really like to see your explanation, so I’m e-mailing this to you. I’ll be awaiting your response. 


2 Responses to “”

  1. Leslie October 7, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    wow – that is really powerful. i have my ups and downs with perez’s blog, but have continued to read it pretty regularly. i think i am ready to quit the habit. thanks for sharing!

  2. RZ October 7, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    Amen.

Leave a Reply

