Summer reading

22 Sep

First, apologies for the serious lack of posting the last few weeks months.  Between work, weddings, wedding related events and a seriously intense fall TV line up, I’ve been a little busy.  (Seriously, RKR and I are going to make a spreadsheet of all of our shows. I’m scared my DVR is going to call in sick.) But, I am going to try and be a better blogger this fall!

I figured I’d get back in the swing of things by sharing two totally fabulous books I read this summer.

Help_FINAL

The Help takes place in the 1960’s during the civil rights movement in the South.  It’s told from the perspective of black maids in Southern homes and one white woman who recognizes their plight.

Potato

The second book, the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, is  told through letters between a woman in London and residents of Guernsey, a Channel Island, immediately after World War II. I can’t remember the last book I loved as much as this.  I am now desperate to go to Guernsey, but I know I will be disappointed when all of my friends* from the book aren’t there!

*Trust me, you will call them your friends too after reading this book.

2 Responses to “Summer reading”

  1. RZ September 23, 2009 at 2:26 pm #

    she is not kidding. I cannot wait to meet my friends from Guernsey….one day

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 75th and Sedgwick « Lucy Actually - March 8, 2011

    […] reminded me of a modern day Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society! And you all know how much I love […]

Leave a Reply

