Julie and Julia…and butter

10 Jul

I finally got around to reading Julie and Julia last week.

julie and julia

The author, Julie Powell, unhappy with her unfulfilling life as a secretary devoted a year of her life to making all 524 recipes in Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking. Here’s what I learned most from the book. Julia Child likes butter. LOVES butter. This woman could give Paula Dean a serious run for her money.

I thought the book was going to make me want to run out and buy MtAoFC, but that could not be further from the truth. Some of the recipes sound amazing, but overall left me no desire to attempt any of them. Between the butter (seriously, it’s insane), the animal parts, the butter, and Powell’s cats’ hair that kept permeating her kitchen, I just could not stomach trying to make anything. I’d take my Barefoot Contessa cookbooks any day. Powell twists the recipes into the story of her life in New York, and Julia Child’s life in Paris. While these stories were entertaining, it was until the end of the book that Powell really connects her reasoning for the project.

The movie version comes out in August and I can’t wait to see it. Meryl Streep is playing Julia Child – who actually had a pretty fascinating life – and I’m sure she will be fantastic. Maybe it will be more of an inspiration for my culinary skills than the book.

Leave a Reply

