Kinkos

16 Apr

I find Kinkos to be home to the worst customer service, product completion, and anything else they tackle. I am pretty convinced that the Kinkos at 17th and K is the worst place on earth. Ok maybe not the worst on earth, but definitely the worst in the metropolitan DC area. (That also may be a stretch, but go with it for now.)

RZ and AS probably know my dislike for Kinko’s the best, as they were my bosses when I was an intern in college. We were preparing for a march which required a lot of signs, printing, and other things that Kinkos believes they can do. I was sent off to Kinkos frequently only to battle with the sales reps over lost documents and  being forced to wait in non-existent lines for 45 minutes. The benefit was that I usually was able to get everything for free.

Last night I was forced to take on Kinkos again. I walked in, ready to get my Master’s Project (woot woot) printed and bound.  They were too busy to help me, and suggested I email them the project. I was a little hesitant, but went with it. I went to pick it up this morning. Here is what transcribed:

Location: Kinko’s, Durham.
me: I would like to pick up a project that I emailed in last night.
Kinkos staff: Ok, do you have a receipt?
Me: no, because I emailed it. (not looking good so far.)
New Kinkos staff member (they switched out on me): Here it is. Your total is $160.
me: Um, I’m sorry, what? how much?
Kinkos staff: well it’s in color, and you wanted it single sided
Me: no, I wanted it double sided (note, it looks way prettier in single)
Kinkos staff: Ok. let’s see. (Plays with calculator and computer). Ok, how about $45.
Me: wow, really? thanks!

The trend continues. Lucy: 1. Durham Kinkos: 0.

2 Responses to “Kinkos”

  1. RZ April 16, 2009 at 2:19 pm #

    Oh kinkos….

  2. Alis April 24, 2009 at 3:44 pm #

    Kinkos, such fond memories… and to think the march was 5 years ago, tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

