Tanning

6 Apr

Ohmigod, have you guys tried this stuff? It’s amazing.

jer

I know this lotion has been around forever, and I feel like I’ve seen it in many of my friends’ bathrooms, so I’m probably just behind the curve on this one. [sidenote – apparently this is my thing. I’m really good at ignoring friends’ suggestions of things I would just *love* and then trying them years later and becoming totally obsessed. Please see West Wing, The for further example.] I bought some last week and it worked. Like noticebly worked. I am getting tan without the use of a tanning bed (I’ve been tanning-bed free since 2004), spray tan, or even the old fashioned actually sitting in the sun. And I didn’t have to spend my life’s worth on Helioplex based products that Glamour magazine told me are the key to preventing skin cancer circa 2007. A-mazing.

I also figured I’d use this opportunity to share one of my favorite experiences with LW in college. We decided one random Saturday afternoon to try this new fangled thing called “spray tanning.” We got to the tanning place and they described how to use the booths, when to turn around, etc. Of course we were both in hysterics the whole time. There may have been an instructional video involved.  Later that day we were at a sorority retreat. Until then I wasn’t really sure whether or not the spray had worked and was pretty annoyed that my clothes were turning orange. That was until I looked over at LW and realized she was getting tanner by the SECOND. Like, I would blink and she’d be a new shade of brown. Apparently the same was true for me because she was laughing at me from across the room. We were both a nice shade of burnt orange by the next day. Awesome.

2 Responses to “Tanning”

  1. LHVC April 6, 2009 at 1:43 am #

    i love this stuff!
    Also the spray tan- i finally tried it this fall before a wedding- it was interesting– but i think i got a little too dark.

  2. LW April 7, 2009 at 3:15 pm #

    I’d like you all to take a moment, close your eyes, and picture how tan Lucy gets after a week split between Miami and Boca. Now, picture that same shade, times 1,000.

    That was Lucy’s color post-spray tan. Different race, same bright-blue eyes!

Leave a Reply

