Ikea

18 Mar

I have a pretty intense love-hate relationship with Ikea. Usually, it’s heavy on the love. My apartment is currently furnished with the following Ikea pieces (not to mention several lamps and other small items):

Ok some of these are not exactly what I have, but you get the idea

Ok some of these are not exactly what I have, but you get the idea

I had these at my old apartment:

mosaic8014195Both were in great condition but I didn’t want to drag them to NC. [Ok, so the table kind of swiveled a little. Kind of like a lazy susan. But in great condition for a lazy susan.]

So yes, usually I love Ikea. Overall, I think it’s one of the best things Europe has given us – right up there with Jamie Oliver and H & M. I’ve had generally great experiences in the store, my stuff works and lasts for the most part (an electric screwdriver is the only way to go), and they have really cute stuff. My best Ikea trip – the College Park one, do not attempt Potomac Mills – was with CK and MJ as we tried to de-Buffaloize CK’s new digs. I probably had so much fun because I wasn’t getting anything for myself, but I was running around with a tape measure picking stuff out like I was Nate Berkus. Or my mom. It was great.

So where does my hate factor come in? Well, tonight my dresser broke for no less than the fourth time. I have put this thing back together everytime, re-screwing in drawers, etc. So tonight when I pulled open the bottom drawer and heard the familiar crack of the two above it fall in I decided to give up. I’m done fixing this thing and will live with it broken until I move. The experience has taught me a valuable Ikea lesson though: do not buy anything with moving parts. Bookshelves, tv stands, these thing are great. Drawers, the Swedes have not yet cracked.

I also feel the need to share my worst Ikea experience of all time. I decided to buy a desk from Ikea for grad school. I drove out to CP, picked it out, and brought it home. The fact that it was missing parts and I had to get back in my car and drive out to CP to get the parts actually seems like a minor part of the story looking back on it. Approximately 6 hours later, I had assembled this all by myself. Like, with NO help.

Impressive, huh?

Impressive, huh?

I took a look at it and started to second guess myself. Later that night, I was out with Shannee and all of sudden decided that I hated the desk. Like had to get rid of it immediately. I thought it had bad karma and wanted it gone. I went home, put it on craigslist that night and two days later it was gone for the exact price I had paid. I went to Crate and Barrel, bought a great desk on sale and it was delivered (with all pieces) the next day.

So this story has a happy ending and I am really hoping my dresser story ends the same way!

2 Responses to “Ikea”

  1. WRS March 19, 2009 at 3:35 am #

    The Swedes are a tricky bunch!

  2. Shannon March 31, 2009 at 3:31 am #

    Girl I was just catching up on your blog and ready this one.. I do remember the desk fiasco!!

Leave a Reply

