Snow days, Obama style

28 Jan

I have long made fun of taken full advantage of DC’ inability to deal with snow. Freshman year of college, I was astounded when school was cancelled for an inch of snow on the ground. Granted I realize my threshold for snow is pretty high, being a Chicago girl and all, but DC really takes it to a whole new level. The only snow days I can recall from high school involved ice storms that cut out power and heat (which actually only got us out a half day early) and when the wind chill would drop to insane levels. What I found more and more hilarious with each passing year in the city was how, nearly every year without fail, DC gets a snow storm. Yet the city refuses to up their snow plow capacity so every year, without fail, the entire city shuts down at the first sign of flakes.

Enter President Obama (yep, still just as exciting to write that each time):

“Can I make a comment unrelated to the economy?. . . My children’s school was canceled today, because of what? Some ice!. . . As my children pointed out, in Chicago, school is never canceled.”

Granted he’s not going to win any popularity points by reducing the number of snow days government employees (and the many offices that run on government schedules) get each year, it’s nice to have someone running things in DC who realizes how ridiculous it is.

One Response to “Snow days, Obama style”

  1. Abbie February 8, 2009 at 2:38 am #

    I love having a president who’s not afraid of snow.

Leave a Reply

