The Real DC

16 Jan

LHVC sent me this great article about restaurants in DC from yesterday’s NYT. I love how they focused on all the new neighborhoods and fun new restaurants, rather than the usual press-darlings (Zaytinya, Cafe Atlantico, Cityzen, etc.) Marvin and Cork deserve all the accolades they receive. I especially love the painting on the side of Marvin. So fab.

New York Times, 1/14/09

New York Times, 1/14/09

One of my favorite things about DC is how neighborhoods change so fast but still (mostly) maintain their character. When I was an undergrad no one in their right mind would have gone to U Street or Logan Circle, except maybe directly in and out of cabs to the 930 Club. Now these are my two favorite parts of DC. I’m still a little skeptical of the whole H St NE phenomenum, but mostly because I haven’t actually been there yet. I’m kind of dying to go to Granville Moore’s, even though it gave mollytics food poisoning. She’s willing to go back, so I’ll trust her judgement.

I totally agree with 14th and You’s happiness that the article didn’t talk about Ben’s Chili Bowl. It’s still totes awesome that Obama ate there, but it’s nice to see some others get the spotlight. (Except Cake Love. You get enough, Warren Brown.)

2 Responses to “The Real DC”

  1. LHVC January 16, 2009 at 4:22 pm #

    I made it! I look forward to visiting you next year in DC and checking some of these new places out!

  2. RZ January 16, 2009 at 6:42 pm #

    LOVED this article as well. Man I love this town.

Leave a Reply

